stars in my hands

take it in. give it back. deglobalize.

crawling into september September 12, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Amanda McRaven @ 8:44 pm

Leaving yoga at 8 and the dark has settled. This wist that sinks in seems something of relic, a deep past where my cells must have watched the sun etching toward the equinox with a sense that it was time to burrow. time to put away what needs the daylight and build fires and weave warmth.

my skin loves hot sun, loves warmth permeating down and through, back into the earth. As the year wears on, I feel like I glide above a slowly hardening ground, rootless. I stop turning it with my garden tools and let it lie, a smooth surface for skating.

I could do without this season.

 

One Response to “crawling into september”

  1. Dan Says:

    This is MY season! I work my way through the crispy layers of fallen leaves in a silent forest. The buzz of insects gone, the rustling of mice and shrew now quieted below the frost line. Noisy birds all gone south and the only ones who intrude are those who, like me, conserve energy and effort, moving only when needful, thankful always for the food and fuel that the sun has given and the earth has stored.


Leave a Reply

